2015 Winner

Diane Arbeit

2014 Winner

Hilda Kastanis

2013 Winner

Penny Slingerland

2012 Winner

Mary Kelly

AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award

In the American Kennel Club’s ongoing efforts to recognize and celebrate its volunteer club members, The AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award program was established in 2006 to provide each member club with an AKC Medallion to award to one of its own on a yearly basis.

This award honors those individuals who deserve special recognition that have made a difference in the sport of purebred dogs, embodied the AKC Code of Sportsmanship, and have been an active and valued member of an AKC member club. Medallions are awarded solely at the club’s discretion.

MHKA winners have been:

2017 winner Danielle Sands, DVM
2016 - Rob Waters
2015 - Diane Arbeit
2014 - Hilda Kastanis
2013 - Penny Slingerland
2012 - Mary Kelly
2010 - Sharon Lyons
2009 - Lori Curran
2008 - Nancy Jozefowicz

AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award: Procedure
(Board approved 3/2008)

  • In the month of March, the newsletter shall carry a short description of the AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, the mechanism for submitting nominations, and a description of the selection and awarding process.
  • Only MHKA members in good standing shall be eligible for nomination. In 500 words or less, nominations will include the name of the nominee, a description of how the individual has demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship during the previous calendar year, and the name of the individual endorsing the nomination (no additional weight will be given to a nomination with multiple endorsements).
  • Written nominations must be submitted to the Corresponding Secretary by May 1st. (Update: ASAP this month.)
  • The Board will review all applications and seek clarifications from endorsers if necessary.
  • The Board will review and vote on the nominees, taking as many votes as necessary to come to a majority decision. The individual receiving a majority of the votes will be deemed the recipient of the award. There will be only ONE recipient of the annual award. The decision of the board will be final.
  • The Board must reach their decision at or before the July BOG meeting of the year in which the award is to be handed out.
  • The Board will award the medallion at the Annual Potluck in September.
  • The AKC Delegate will provide the name of the recipient to the AKC.

Curious about dog events? Want to know more about activities with your dog? Come to a meeting or event, and we'll be happy to answer your questions. Or contact MHKA by email. ©2017 Mid-Hudson Kennel Association. All rights reserved.